One More Convert to AFG Mission?

I just caught this in a Canadian Press story about Quebec entertainers spending time in Afghanistan offering some distraction to Canada’s troops:  a bit of an exchange with singer/comedienne Annie Dufresne:

Like many of her fellow Quebeckers, Dufresne has long counted herself among those who would prefer to see the 2,700 Canadian soldiers in Afghanistan at home instead.

No longer, she said in an interview with The Canadian Press.

“I thought we were not supposed to be here,” Dufresne said, her voice dropping to a whisper. “But now I changed my mind.”

“Me, I am profoundly for peace . . . I think all people should have the right to go to school and have the right to live in peace,” she said.

“I hope what I see over here is the real thing because there’s too many young boys who have died from this.”

And from the French version (version française ici):

«Je pensais que nous ne devions pas être ici, mais j’ai maintenant changé d’avis», a-t-elle dit en entrevue à La Presse Canadienne. «Moi, je suis profondément pour la paix (…) Je pense que tout le monde devrait pouvoir aller à l’école et vivre en paix», a-t-elle ajouté.

«J’espère que ce que je vois ici est vrai, parce qu’il y a trop de jeunes hommes qui sont morts pour ça.»

Bien sur, Annie – well done.  Here’s hoping you use your high profile in la belle province to keep spreading the word.

Leave a comment